Browse by / Departments

Food Science and Technology

Address: No. 1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Road, Taipei, 10617, Taiwan(R.O.C.)
Phone: 886-2-3366-4135
Fax: 886-2-2362-0849


The Institute was established in 1976 as the first stand-alone graduate institute independent of other undergraduate departments in the College of Bioresources and Agriculture. The growth in food industry generated a great demand for graduates trained in food science and technology at that time. National Taiwan University filed in the application for establishing this institute to the Ministry of Education and received approval based on the suggestion from Dr. Stephen S. Chang, the professor from Food Science Department of Rutgers University (USA) and the consultant to the Ministry of Economic Affairs of the ROC and his colleagues from the Ministry of Economic Affairs, the Council of Agriculture, and local food-industries. It was the first food science graduate school in this country.

This institute started with M.S. program and later Ph.D. program was initiated in 1983. To integrate relevant undergraduate departments in training graduates in food science and technology, this institute inaugurated to Interdepartmental Food Science and Technology Program in 2000 and Health and Nutrition Program in 2011. Starting in 2002, “Health and Nutrition” was added into the grouping for admission application. Currently, we have 7 Professors, 3 Associate Professors, 2 Assistant Professors, 6 Emeritus Professors, 2 Adjunct Professors, 4 Adjunct Associate Professors, 1 Adjunct Assistant Professor, and 1 specialist Professor. The teaching in health food is further being strengthened. Other than the existing specialized areas, many faculty members are also involved in joint research programs.

This institute offers Master’s, and Doctor's degrees to Taiwanese and international students. Our goals are to train students being capable of doing the most advanced research, being able to integrate knowledge and develop independent thinking in food science and technology. The M.S. students are required to complete a minimum of 24 course credits in addition to 6 thesis credits. The Ph.D. students holding a master degree are required to complete a minimum 20 course credits plus 12 thesis credits. Ph.D. students without a master’s degree must complete a minimum of 30 course credits plus 12 thesis credits.