Browse by / Departments


National Taiwan University (NTU), formerly called as Taihoku Imperial University was founded in 1928 by the Japanese Government, and reestablished in 1945 with restoration of Taiwan by the Nationalist Chinese Government. Three laboratories, Plant Pathology, Entomology and Sericulture, then under the College of Science and Agriculture, were merged into the Department of Agricultural Biology and College of Agriculture, NTU. The Department was renamed as the Department and Graduate Institute of Plant Pathology and Entomology that included two divisions─Division of Plant Pathology and Division of Entomology. The Ph.D. program was first offered by the College of Agriculture since 1967. The Department was recently divided into two independent departments. Thus, the Department of Entomology was established on August 1, 1998.

We Aim to train equip students with comprehensive knowledge and state-of-the-art techniques in entomology, plant quarantine and integrated pest management in order to meet the needs of society. The students graduate from the department will have a wide range of careers in both the private and the public sectors related to teaching, research, extension and administration in plant protection and quarantine, ecological conservation, environmental pollution, disease vector control and biotechnology etc.